To iMac or not to iMac?

Last week, my overwrought computer system finally reached the brink of its capacity, and it became clear that a new system was in order. After three stress-filled days of intense indecision over what kind of new computer system to invest in, and hours upon hours of reading up on the industry standards in photography, pros and cons of PC’s vs Macs, I finally decided to go with an iMac. They say we make decisions with our emotions, and justify them with logic; so perhaps, in the end, I fell prey to the iMac’s sleek white calmness, the inevitable draw of the Other Side, and the proverbial greener grass. Time will tell.

I have been a PC user my whole life, with the exception of my college years, during which I used Macs in our art department for my digital imaging and photo manipulation work. It will be an exciting time for me, tomorrow, when the UPS tracking site states that I will receive this new wonder. The loyal Mac users I know are convinced I will undergo some sort of fundamental shift, and never go back to PC’s. We shall see. I currently see the many uses of both systems, and have found it rather interesting to note in the reading I did, that at this point in time, most parts used to put together a Mac are identical to the parts used for PC’s. They even, purportedly, come from the same manufacturers.

I am, however, looking forward to learning a new system. I am fond of being multi-lingual, and it’s about time I get as comfortable on a Mac as I have become on a PC.

2 responses

  1. Rob

    Congratulations! You know where to go for free tech support 🙂

    August 30, 2010 at 21:16

    • Hey Rob, thanks so much! I will most definitely be taking you up on that…

      August 30, 2010 at 22:01

Leave a Reply

